On October 21-24, 2021, it is time for the next edition of the Eric Ericson Award, the world’s most prestigious competition for young choir conductors, hosted this time by the Swedish Radio, with event direction by Berwaldhallen, in collaboration with the Royal Swedish Academy of Music, the Rosenborg-Gehrmans Foundation and the European Broadcasting Union (EBU).

Eric Ericson. Foto: SVT BILD

Eric Ericson. Foto: SVT BILD

Eric Ericson Award, the prestigious international competition for young choral conductors last held in 2009, is being re-established at the initiative of the Swedish Radio together with the Royal Swedish Academy of Music, the Rosenborg-Gehrmans Foundation and the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). The competition is scheduled to be held every three years from October 2021.

The purpose of the Eric Ericson Award is to identify, encourage and support young and gifted choral conductors in the spirit of Eric Ericson. The award aims to uphold the high artistic and competitive standards established by the late Professor Ericson in his international career. The Eric Ericson Award offers a new generation of choral conductors the gateway to their own international careers.


The Eric Ericson Award is aimed at choral conductors not older than 35 years old, and who turns 36 at the earliest when the competition is finished in October 2021. Applications are open to everyone. The repertoire will be chosen from Western art music, with some emphasis on contemporary Swedish choral music. You can find a link to the submission form in the menu on the right. More information about competition rules and the application process is coming soon.

Applications that arrive later than April 1st 2021 will not be processed. The eight participants who have been selected for the semi-finals will be announced no later than June 15th 2021.

After the application period, a panel consisting of highly experienced choral conductors and conducting teachers will review the applications, selecting eight competitors who advance to the final round in Berwaldhallen in Stockholm in October 2021. An expert committee will select the repertoire for the final round of the competition.

The winner of the 2021 Eric Ericson Award will be selected by a jury consisting of internationally renowned choral conductors, singers and former competition winners. The jury’s chair is Cecilia Rydinger, Professor of Orchestral Conducting at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm and Chief Conductor of the famous men’s choir Orphei Drängar. Jury members also include Kaspars Putniņš, Anne Sofie von Otter, Erik Westberg, Sofi Jeannin, Justin Doyle and a member of the Swedish Radio Choir.

The winner will get the opportunity to perform with several of Europe’s leading radio choirs (full list below), along with a prize sum of SEK 100,000, provided by the Rosenborg-Gehrmans Foundation. The two runners-up will each receive a prize sum of SEK 25,000.

Important dates

  • April 1st, 2021: We must receive your competition application by this date.
  • June 15th, 2021: We announce the eight participants that has made it to the semi-finals.
  • October 21st and 22nd, 2021: Rehearsals and semi-finals are held, where the eight participants conduct prominent Swedish choirs before the jury, which then selects three finalists.
  • October 23rd, 2021: The three finalists rehearse with The Swedish Radio Choir ahead of the final.
  • October 24th, 2021: The final concert is broadcast live from Berwaldhallen in Stockholm, where the jury crowns the winner of the 2021 Eric Ericson Award.

Participating choirs

The following choirs have accepted to engage the winner of the 2021 Eric Ericson Award during some of their upcoming seasons.


The Eric Ericson Award was established on the initiative of Stefan Parkman, choir conductor and Professor in Choral Conducting at the Department of Musicology, Uppsala University. The competition was held in 2003, 2006 and 2009 by Körcentrum at Rikskonserter with prize money provided by the Eric Ericson International Choral Centre. The very prestigious competition attracted young conductors from far beyond Sweden’s borders. Previous winners of the competition are Kjetil Almenning (2009), Martina Batič (2006) and Peter Dijkstra (2003).


To participate in the Eric Ericson Award 2021, please submit the application form. More information about competition rules and the application process is coming soon.

Apply here (pdf).


The prize money awarded to the competition winners is provided by The Rosenborg-Gehrmans Foundation.

Read more.


The jury consists of internationally renowned choral conductors, singers, former competition winners and a member of the Swedish Radio Choir.

Read more.


Previous winners of Eric Ericson Award are Peter Dijkstra (2003), Martina Batič (2006) and Kjetil Almenning (2009).

Read more.


Eric Ericson served as The Swedish Radio Choir’s chief conductor for more than 30 years and has made immeasurable contributions to Swedish and international choir life. By premiering works of his contemporary composers, many written directly for him and The Swedish Radio Choir, he opened up a completely new dimension of how a choir can sound and be led. Eric Ericson was also a teacher of choral conducting at The Royal Swedish Academy of Music, where he fostered several generations of young conductors.

Read more.


Project Manager Eric Ericson Award 2021
Kajsa Hallhagen,
Mobile: +46 708 538 407