Composer Jacob Mühlrad has taken the musical world by storm. Headlining this concert is the world premiere of his new clarinet concerto, a work commissioned by the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, with soloist Magnus Holmander. Conductor Martin Fröst also leads the orchestra in Felix Mendelssohn’s third symphony, for which the composer found his inspiration during a hike in Scotland.

Following the regular programme on Thursday 11th of April a bonus concert will commence after a short intermission. Stick around to experience pianist David Wärn and members of the orchestra in Andreas Hallén’s piano quartet from 1870!





The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra is known worldwide as one of Europe’s most versatile orchestras with an exciting and varied repertoire and a constant striving to break new ground The multi-award-winning orchestra has been praised for its exceptional, wide-ranging musicianship as well as collaborations with the world’s foremost composers, conductors and soloists.

Permanent home of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra since 1979 is Berwaldhallen, the Swedish Radio’s concert hall. In addition to the audience in the hall, the orchestra reaches many many listeners on the radio and the web and through it´s partnership with EBU. Several concerts are also broadcast and streamed on Berwaldhallen Play and with Swedish Television, offering the audience more opportunities to come as close as possible to one of the world’s top orchestras.

“The orchestra has a unique combination of humility, sensibility and musical imagination”, says Daniel Harding, Music Director of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra since 2007. “I have never had a concert with the orchestra where they haven’t played as though their lives depended on it!”

The first radio orchestra was founded in 1925, the same year that the Swedish Radio Service began its broadcasts. The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra received its current name in 1967. Through the years, the orchestra has had several distinguished Music Directors. Two of them, Herbert Blomstedt and Esa-Pekka Salonen, have since been appointed Conductors Laureate.

Approximate concert lenght: 1 hour 10 min (no intermission)

Bonus concert Thursday 11th April: Hallén’s piano
We have the pleasure of inviting you to a chamber music recital after the concert. You are most welcome to stay, the performance will begin after a brief interval.

As a composer, conductor and lecturer Andreas Hallén was a central individual in the Swedish musical establishment during the turn of the 19th century. Hallén took huge inspiration from German composers such as Richard Wagner, and his piano quintet, which was written during a stay in Munich and Dresden in 1870, is no exception. Pianist David Wärn joins musicians from the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra in this romantic piece.

Frida Hallén Blixt, violin
Ingegerd Kierkegaard, viola
Helena Nilsson, cello
David Wärn, piano

ANDREAS HALLÉN: Piano Quartet Op. 3    25 min