Alva Holm in Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto

Last year’s winner of the Soloist Prize, Alva Holm, plays Dmitri Shostakovich’s first violin concerto with the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra and young Finnish conductor Tarmo Peltokoski, who also leads the orchestra in Ralph Vaughan Williams’ sixth symphony. Two works composed at around the same time, but under entirely different circumstances.

Stay for the bonus concert Thursday January 11, beginning shortly after the regular programme, featuring Max Bruch’s delightfully romantic and spirited string octet!





The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra is known worldwide as one of Europe’s most versatile orchestras with an exciting and varied repertoire and a constant striving to break new ground The multi-award-winning orchestra has been praised for its exceptional, wide-ranging musicianship as well as collaborations with the world’s foremost composers, conductors and soloists.

Permanent home of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra since 1979 is Berwaldhallen, the Swedish Radio’s concert hall. In addition to the audience in the hall, the orchestra reaches many many listeners on the radio and the web and through it´s partnership with EBU. Several concerts are also broadcast and streamed on Berwaldhallen Play and with Swedish Television, offering the audience more opportunities to come as close as possible to one of the world’s top orchestras.

“The orchestra has a unique combination of humility, sensibility and musical imagination”, says Daniel Harding, Music Director of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra since 2007. “I have never had a concert with the orchestra where they haven’t played as though their lives depended on it!”

The first radio orchestra was founded in 1925, the same year that the Swedish Radio Service began its broadcasts. The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra received its current name in 1967. Through the years, the orchestra has had several distinguished Music Directors. Two of them, Herbert Blomstedt and Esa-Pekka Salonen, have since been appointed Conductors Laureate.

Approximate duration: 1 hr 15 mins

Stay and enjoy this bonus concert which begins shortly after the original programme. Max Bruch’s rarely performed string octet is unfairly overlooked, according to those who know it. Take the opportunity to acquaint yourself with this elegant concert piece performed here by string players from the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Karin Eriksson, violin
Per Sporrong, violin
Hanna Göran, violin
Lachlan O’Donnell, violin
Ingegerd Kierkegaard, viola
Diana Crafoord, viola
Magnus Lanning, cello
Benjamin Ziaï, double bass

MAX BRUCH: String Octet, 25 min
I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio
III. Allegro molto